

March 13, 2024

*Via electronic mail (withrow.g@yahoo.com)* Chair-Elect Gwen Withrow

*Via electronic mail (lauren3lt@yahoo.com)* Lauren Vickers

Chair-Elect Withrow and Ms. Vickers:

This correspondence is in response to your respective March 11, 2024, emails requesting clarification regarding the March 23, 2024 Senate District caucuses. While I regret that the actions of your outgoing Chairman have created uncertainty and confusion regarding the caucuses and the properly elected Temporary Chairs, I hope to provide guidance by this letter that will minimize the chances that anybody wishing to become a delegate to the Republican Party of Texas State Convention may be adversely affected.

Beginning in or before August 2023, my staff and I made multiple attempts to work with Montgomery County Chairman Bryan Christ to establish a date and location to call District Executive Committee meetings, to no avail. On December 2, 2023, pursuant to Texas Election Code Section 171.054, I called meetings for Montgomery County Senate Districts 4, 7, and 18 District Executive Committees to convene for the purpose of selecting a Temporary SD Convention Chair for each of the three Senate Districts. All three SD Caucus meetings were held on December 5 at the KC Event Hall in Conroe.

According to information I have been provided, the following were elected as the Temporary Chairs of each SD at the meeting I called in compliance with the Texas Election Code:

- SD 4: Dale Inman
- SD 7: Dennis Tibbs
- SD 18: Lauren Vickers

Ultimately, any disputes over whether a particular meeting was properly conducted and which list of delegates and alternates are properly elected will be heard by the Credentials Committee at the Republican Party of Texas State Convention. That committee will report their recommendation to the body of the convention, which will then vote on whether to approve the committee report.

Yours truly,

MAG

Matt Rinaldi Chairman, Republican Party of Texas

Cc: Dale Inman, SREC SD4 Deborah Kelting-Fite SREC SD7 Tom Nobis SREC SD 7 Cheryl Thompson Draper SREC SD18 Howard Barker SREC SD 18